DSym via TimPlayer

Discuss SoundTrackers, shims to QTM, 32bitting and ARMv7 compatibility
Post Reply
andretim
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:29 pm

DSym via TimPlayer

Post by andretim » Sun Aug 05, 2018 11:03 am

Hi Jon,

I made a test version to support sequence range playing in TimPlayer and made changes to my DSym shim, you can download it here:
http://users.skynet.be/Andre.Timmermans/DSymtest.zip

The limitations of the shim are summarized at the start of the source file (DSym.c.Module).

JonAbbott
Posts: 1967
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by JonAbbott » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:47 pm

Thanks Tim, I'll give it a try with Exodus as I've done all the 32bit conversion work on it and have been waiting for the source for DSymPlayer from the authors so I can sort out the music. Given they've not located the source in the five months since they promised it, I'd say its unlikely the original source will turn up.

FYI, games I'm aware of that use DSymphonyPlayer are:
  • F10062 Burn 'Out (1995) (Oregan Developments)
  • F10461 Burn 'Out [SA version] (1997) (Oregan Developments)
  • F10145 Exodus (1997) (Artex Software)
  • F10408 Inferno (1996) (Paradise Games)
  • F10238 Magnetoids (1994) (Oregan Developments)
  • F10272 Overload (2000) (Paradise Games)
  • F10386 Wizard Apprentice (1997) (The Datafile)

andretim
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by andretim » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:14 pm

In the past when I still had my RPC I tested the shim with !Burn 'out and the !XTreme megademo (some of the demos uses the DSym_UpCallVector to switch to the next part of the demo).

JonAbbott
Posts: 1967
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by JonAbbott » Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:17 pm

I've given it a test with Exodus, but can't get *DSym PlaySingle <start> <end> to play ranges. Using the SWI directly also doesn't play, however *DSym RestartSong plays the track, so on the face of it the track has loaded okay.

After a quick look at the C source for DSym_PlaySingle I tried calling SYS "Tim_Player_SongPlayRange",1,<start>,<end> directly from BASIC, which also didn't play anything (I'm assuming the song handle is 1?)

andretim
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by andretim » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:59 am

Sorry for the delay I have been sidetracked by things like LanManFS, KinoAmp and overlays and alpha screen modes.

I have modified the DSym shim and have updated the archive. Can you reload it and restest?

JonAbbott
Posts: 1967
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by JonAbbott » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:34 pm

andretim wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:59 am
Sorry for the delay I have been sidetracked by things like LanManFS, KinoAmp and overlays and alpha screen modes.
No need to apologise, I appreciate you taking the time to get DSymphonyPlayer shimmed.
andretim wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:59 am
I have modified the DSym shim and have updated the archive. Can you reload it and retest?
Testing with Exodus, it appears to now be working correctly.

EDIT: There is one oddity:

Code: Select all

SYS "OS_CLI","DSym FlushOutput"
Reports "Unknown Digital Symphony operation". Add a SPACE to the end and it then works.

andretim
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by andretim » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:24 pm

New test version uploaded.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1967
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: DSym via TimPlayer

Post by JonAbbott » Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:28 am

Appears to be working perfectly, thanks.

Post Reply