Asylum RISC OS 5

Discuss the project, or ask a general question
JonAbbott
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by JonAbbott »

I’ve tracked the locking down a Pi firmware change. It seems to be related to the min CPU clock speed, possibly the value itself or when the CPU clock speed is altered dynamically.

For example, setting arm_freq_min=500 in CONFIG/TXT will cause the hang at the Asylum Options screen you describe. Setting it at 100, which is what I had mine at previously, causes random Abort on data transfers when the CPU clock changes.

Are you setting any clock values in CONFIG/TXT? If you are, could you try commenting them all out please.
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

I had some but removed all those and it is hanging at the Asylum loader as before, not the options screen. It is white fancy text on black. I am not seeing any behaviour change so not sure what i could be doing differently. Just to clarify. are you testing with a Pi 3?
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

Perhaps you could upload your !Run file in case i am doing something differently or better still the entire game as it is freeware now so no legal issues.
JonAbbott
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by JonAbbott »

I can't release the games just yet, but here's a !Run to try:

Code: Select all

| Set the next line to the screen mode to use. 013 and 049 are the defaults
Set AsylumMode 013
| Allocate double the requested screen size, 160 for 13 and 300 for 49
ScreenSize 160

Set Asylum$Dir <Obey$Dir>
Set Asylum$Path <Obey$Dir>.
Set PsychoResource$Path <Asylum$Path>Resources.
Set PsychoEgo$Path Asylum:!Ego.
Set PsychoPsyche$Path Asylum:!Psyche.
Set PsychoId$Path Asylum:!Id.
Set Asylum$Reset No
IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN ADFEmulateRISCOS 3.11
WimpSlot -min 480k -max 480k
IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN GOARM3JIT 0
<Asylum$Path>Resources.Title
ADFPause 100
RMLoad <Asylum$Path>Modules.Stasis game
| Prevent Abort in BodgeMusic
IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN JITMEMORYA 1EC EF047D4A E1A00000 BodgeMusic
RMLoad <Asylum$Path>Modules.BodgeMusic
RMLoad <Asylum$Path>Modules.FastSpr
| Fix VSync wait in Blitz
IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN JITMEMORYA 248 BA000007 EF020013 Blitz
RMLoad <Asylum$Path>Modules.Blitz

StasisLink 1 1
StasisLink 2 2
StasisLink 3 3
StasisLink 4 4
StasisLink 5 5
StasisLink 6 6
StasisLink 7 7
StasisLink 8 8
StasisLoad 1 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Jump
StasisLoad 2 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Bonus
StasisLoad 3 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Explo
StasisLoad 4 <Asylum$Path>Voices.AtomExplo
StasisLoad 5 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Cannon
StasisLoad 6 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Rocket
StasisLoad 7 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Hiss
StasisLoad 8 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Stunned
StasisLoad 9 <Asylum$Path>Voices.SmallZap
StasisLoad 10 <Asylum$Path>Voices.BigZap
StasisLoad 16 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Organ
StasisLoad 17 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Plink
StasisLoad 18 <Asylum$Path>Voices.PlinkHard
StasisLoad 19 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Raver
StasisLoad 20 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Dome
StasisLoad 21 <Asylum$Path>Voices.NasalStr
StasisLoad 22 <Asylum$Path>Voices.BassHollow
StasisLoad 23 <Asylum$Path>Voices.NasalBass
StasisLoad 24 <Asylum$Path>Voices.BassDrum
StasisLoad 25 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Snare
StasisLoad 26 <Asylum$Path>Voices.Cymbal
StasisLoad 31 <Asylum$Path>Voices.AtomExplo

ECHO <22><13>
BASIC -load <Asylum$Path>Code.!RunImage3
RMKill Blitz
RMKill BodgeMusic
RMKill Stasis
RMKill FastSpr

IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN GOARM3JIT
IF ADFFS$OSVersion>=&50000 THEN ADFEmulateRISCOS
UnSet Asylum$Reset
UnSet AsylumMode
You should end up at a BASIC command line, where you can type "RUN" to run the game. If you don't get that far, we know its hung loading the Modules or sounds.

If you've updated to the ADFFS 2.73 beta, replace GOARM3JIT with GOARM4JIT.
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

Rebuilt my boot structure and it loads with latest !Run file. Game doesn't exit cleanly, i assumed it was in BASIC again and did *quit and it goes back to desktop. Only the slightly slower game is an issue for me now, thanks for the help.
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

BASIC -load <Asylum$Path>Code.!RunImage3

Removing BASIC -load and putting Run sorts the start and quit out completely
Last edited by hydro on Sun Jun 14, 2020 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JonAbbott
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by JonAbbott »

Change the BASIC -load to BASIC -quit to get it to exit back to the desktop.

Slightly slower game speed? Have you been into the settings and configured the sound/VSync?
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

Both posting at the same time there i see heh
hydro
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:51 pm

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by hydro »

Where are those settings please?
JonAbbott
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Asylum RISC OS 5

Post by JonAbbott »

TUNE GAME OPTIONS / SPEED TWEAKS

Make sure you save the settings when you go back to the options menu.
Post Reply