Introduction and query

Discuss the project, or ask a general question
Jonskipop

Introduction and query

Post by Jonskipop »

Hello, I am a former A3000 user/gamer who just bought their 12 year old son a Raspberry Pi for his birthday. I have little prior experience of nuts and bolts computing and my only real exposure to programming has come from going to CoderDojo and playing with Scratch. Today when I was looking over my son's shoulder at what he was doing, I noticed 'RISC OS' and 'ARM' on the (I don't even have a clue what it is called - start up screen?) and got all excited. I searched the Pi forum and found an interesting post about Jonathan Abbott's work with Archimedes games on the Pi and was about to post to that thread when I became embarrassed on three counts; that my first post to the Pi forum would be a query about how to make my old '90s computer games work; that the whole premise of my question was retarded in the first place and thirdly; I was probably asking it in the wrong place. So I came here instead :)

(Apologies this is already so long, I don't do short emails. I was going to PM Jon but the site wouldn't let me).
From browsing around a bit I think I may have already answered part of one of my questions - I had wondered if it were possible, using the software downloads and techniques listed on the Pi 'Native Archimedes' thread, to run original A3000 games from a disc drive plugged into a Pi. It's clear that much more work is involved to make individual games run correctly.
I have a lot of interest in the project and greatly admire the work that has been undertaken, I'm also left with a growing number of other questions but principally, is there anything that can be done to help? I expect I'm a bit like a man with no arms offering to tie someone's shoelaces, but you never know. I couldn't code my way out of a wet paper bag in a hurricane but I am keen to learn. Thanks!
JonAbbott

Re: Introduction and query

Post by JonAbbott »