Game files and formats

Discuss the project, or ask a general question
Grimmsqueaker

Game files and formats

Post by Grimmsqueaker »

Hi,

I am new to Acorn so please bear with me, I have emailed Jon about this already but rather than just emailing him open things up to discussion a bit.

So ADFFS is essentially like using WHDLoad with CF IDE on Amiga or the Ultrasatan on Atari ST, this is a very worthwhile thing that is being done for the Archimedes. Thing is though finding an external SD solution or even external hard drive can be a bit difficult.

Looking round the net since I got my A3010 last weekend there is a severe lack of actual ADF Images, EmuParadise does have quite a few but only a handful of desirable titles.

I have successfully managed to write the Archimedes discs using Omniflop after changing adf to adl so it writes as double sided onto proper discs, everything has worked just fine for me and now I have a small collection of games for my new machine.

I have also been looking round the net and have seen that the HxC Floppy Emulator now has support for Archimedes adf files.

So ideally for HxC or standard floppy disc users we need the adf files for the games that have distribution allowed, things like GODS & Magic Pockets for example are available here but there are no adf versions available anywhere.

Could you please consider this, it means a larger user base will have access to the sterling work you are doing with the preservation project
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
JonAbbott

Re: Game files and formats

Post by JonAbbott »

Grimmsqueaker wrote:So ideally for HxC or standard floppy disc users we need the adf files for the games that have distribution allowed, things like GODS & Magic Pockets for example are available here but there are no adf versions available anywhere.

Could you please consider this, it means a larger user base will have access to the sterling work you are doing with the preservation project