RiscPC help

Discuss the project, or ask a general question
JonAbbott
Posts: 2109
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: RiscPC help

Post by JonAbbott » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:14 pm

9 is the last one I was expecting, that tracks the Sound System Buffer Change IRQ claim - why would ADFS be using that IRQ? More to the point, why would it cause a lock?

I've added a check so it's only tracked if the JIT is running, see if that resolves the lock. If it does you can consider the attached a fixed version to replace ADFFS400.

sniffer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:57 am

Re: RiscPC help

Post by sniffer » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:46 pm

The attached version loads to the icon bar and does NOT lock the machine. Good stuff :) Thank you for tracking that down.

On a different note, is there a central archive of the all the games that can be downloaded?

JonAbbott
Posts: 2109
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: RiscPC help

Post by JonAbbott » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:39 pm

sniffer wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:46 pm
The attached version loads to the icon bar and does NOT lock the machine. Good stuff :) Thank you for tracking that down.
No problem, thanks for assisting. I'm going to have to search the whole 3.71 ROM for SSBC claims to try to figure out how ADFS triggers a claim, there's something very odd going on. Is your sound configured for 8 or 16 bit? That could be a factor.
sniffer wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:46 pm
On a different note, is there a central archive of the all the games that can be downloaded?
No, but we are internally testing deployment via PackMan. It's not ready for a formal public release yet, but I will open it up for public testing.

sniffer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:57 am

Re: RiscPC help

Post by sniffer » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:52 pm

Is your sound configured for 8 or 16 bit? That could be a factor.
8-bit sound
No, but we are internally testing deployment via PackMan. It's not ready for a formal public release yet, but I will open it up for public testing.
Ok, cool.

sniffer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:57 am

Re: RiscPC help

Post by sniffer » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:24 pm

I created a jfd image of Interdictor 2 (archiving my old floppies was one of the reasons I installed !ADFFS in the first place) which appeared to work without problem. However, loading the created image generates 3 x disc error 10 @ 0/000B2C00, 0/000A6C00 and 0/000A9000. I then created an adf of the same floppy, which worked without problem and loading the created adf also worked without problem, no disc errors.

Are those disc errors common or indicative of a generic problem. Is there a way to verify jfd images?

Just for your information, I noticed that the generated image 'disk' (both jfd & adf) was named internally 'Interdict2' but the obey file inside !ADFFS refers to 'Interdict', i.e.;

Code: Select all

Set Obey$Dir ADFS::Interdict.$.!INTERDII

JonAbbott
Posts: 2109
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: RiscPC help

Post by JonAbbott » Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:00 pm

sniffer wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:24 pm
loading the created image generates 3 x disc error 10 @ 0/000B2C00, 0/000A6C00 and 0/000A9000. I then created an adf of the same floppy, which worked without problem and loading the created adf also worked without problem, no disc errors.

Are those disc errors common or indicative of a generic problem. Is there a way to verify jfd images?

Just for your information, I noticed that the generated image 'disk' (both jfd & adf) was named internally 'Interdict2' but the obey file inside !ADFFS refers to 'Interdict', i.e.;

Code: Select all

Set Obey$Dir ADFS::Interdict.$.!INTERDII
Your copy is different to the one the script and image recording were based on (v1.3). As a consequence, some sectors aren't being captured and the script is referring to the wrong floppy name.

Could you eMail me the ADF please (jon at jaspp dot org dot uk), so I can create the recording file and a new script. I suspect that even if you change the script, it will fail to remove the manual protection check - you'll need to change it to run "fly" instead of loading and patching it.

sniffer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:57 am

Re: RiscPC help

Post by sniffer » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:10 pm

Could you eMail me the ADF please
Done.
I suspect that even if you change the script, it will fail to remove the manual protection check
It did fail :)

JonAbbott
Posts: 2109
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: RiscPC help

Post by JonAbbott » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:33 pm

sniffer wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:10 pm
It did fail :)
Change the following line:

Code: Select all

MEMORYA 20FF8 ...
to:

Code: Select all

MEMORYA 21080 ...

Post Reply