X-Run

General development discussion not covered by a specific forum
Post Reply
MarkYoungIW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:50 am

X-Run

Post by MarkYoungIW »

I have X-Run, which runs perfectly on RO2, but when I attempt to load it in RO3, it comes up with the error "!RunImage: sound initialisation error [3]"

I notice on the YouTube channel it is working on a Pi. My question has to be.......how? :D

Thanks

MarkYoungIW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:50 am

Re: X-Run

Post by MarkYoungIW »

I did try the X-Run patch by Theo Boogaert, which apparently allows it to run in RO3, and although it said it had patched it, I still have the same error.

Like I say, the Game runs perfectly in RO2.

JonAbbott
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: X-Run

Post by JonAbbott »

MarkYoungIW wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:17 pm
I notice on the YouTube channel it is working on a Pi. My question has to be.......how? :D
Try the boot script from ADFFS to run the game: !ADFFS.obey.F1032001. This fixes two bugs including one in the Voice assignment code.

MarkYoungIW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:50 am

Re: X-Run

Post by MarkYoungIW »

I am unsure what I am doing wrong here, but I have tried the boot script from ADFFS to run the game: !ADFFS.obey.F1032001, and I still get exactly the same error.

JonAbbott
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: X-Run

Post by JonAbbott »

My guess would be your version is different to the ones the patches were made for. If you’d like to email a copy to me I can take a look.

MarkYoungIW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:50 am

Re: X-Run

Post by MarkYoungIW »

Sorry for the late reply. I have just dug the image out, and eMailed it to you now.

Thanks

JonAbbott
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: X-Run

Post by JonAbbott »

Thanks, I have the email. I'll take a look as soon as I can and report back.

JonAbbott
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: X-Run

Post by JonAbbott »

You do indeed have a different version of X-Run. The ADFFS script was written for a version of v1.2 that's different to yours. From the file dates, I think yours is an earlier build of v1.2

Replace !Run with the script below and see if it runs:

Code: Select all

dir <Obey$Dir>
rmensure SharedCLibrary 0.00 rmload System:Modules.CLib
WimpSlot -min 304k -max 304k
rmensure die 1.00 rmload Samples.die
rmensure end 1.00 rmload Samples.end
rmensure pill 1.00 rmload Samples.pill
rmensure shot 1.00 rmload Samples.shot
rmensure start 1.00 rmload Samples.start
rmensure xplode 1.00 rmload Samples.xplode
echo <22><15>
echo <23><1><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0>
| Bugfix: Voice assignments
LOAD !RunImage 8000
MEMORYA 8004 EF000011 { > null: }
GO 8000
MEMORYA AFB0 EA000006 { > null: }
MEMORYA D940 107AC { > null: }
MEMORYA D938 EF04018A { > null: }
| Bugfix: Bad vector release
MEMORYA D80C EF020020 { > null: }
GO 8008
RMKill die
RMKill end
RMKill pill
RMKill shot
RMKill start 
RMKill xplode

MarkYoungIW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:50 am

Re: X-Run

Post by MarkYoungIW »

Run's absolutely perfect under RO3.11 with that !Run script.

Thank you.

X-Fire was certainly hard to find a copy of at all. I think mine was off eBay for pennies in around 2010.

JonAbbott
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: X-Run

Post by JonAbbott »

MarkYoungIW wrote:
Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:17 pm
Run's absolutely perfect under RO3.11 with that !Run script.
Thanks for confirming, I'll look at updating the script to handle both versions in the next release of ADFFS.

Post Reply