ADFFS 2.73

Public releases of ADFFS
Vanfanel
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by Vanfanel »

JonAbbott wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:42 pm
Vanfanel wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 2:38 pm
-Wavelength: System locks up when trying to exit the game via MENU option, or via CTRL+SHIFT+F12.
I've not managed to reproduce this. It is a Wimp game though, so avoid CTRL+SHIFT+F12 and ensure you've closed all other Wimp apps before you load it.

Wimp support is flacky at best as RISC OS doesn't yet provide a programmatical way of task switching, which can cause the Wimp to lock when switching between 26bit and 32bit apps.
Could it be because I'm running Risc OS 5.29 BETA now (because of Pi 400 compatibility)?
Apart from Wimp compatibility, of course.

JonAbbott
Posts: 2378
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by JonAbbott »

Vanfanel wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:48 pm
Could it be because I'm running Risc OS 5.29 BETA now (because of Pi 400 compatibility)?
Apart from Wimp compatibility, of course.
I tested with a fairly recent OS build on my Pi 3. If you're running on a Pi 400, there could possibly be some CPU core differences at play, but it's more likely to be the Wimp switching tasks without notifying them - which is the bug/feature that breaks ADFFS in most cases.

Vanfanel
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by Vanfanel »

JonAbbott wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:48 am
Vanfanel wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:48 pm
Could it be because I'm running Risc OS 5.29 BETA now (because of Pi 400 compatibility)?
Apart from Wimp compatibility, of course.
I tested with a fairly recent OS build on my Pi 3. If you're running on a Pi 400, there could possibly be some CPU core differences at play, but it's more likely to be the Wimp switching tasks without notifying them - which is the bug/feature that breaks ADFFS in most cases.
It may be as you say, because other than those small quitting problems, the games perform exactly the same on a Pi3 or a Pi 400 :)

Vanfanel
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by Vanfanel »

@Jon

I have detected that Hamsters seems to run at 30FPS in-game, and it does not have sound effects (you know, these animal noises, etc).
I am *almost* sure I had it installed previusly and it ran at full framerate and with both sound FX and music in game.
Are there different versions to install or something like that?

JonAbbott
Posts: 2378
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by JonAbbott »

Vanfanel wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:40 pm
Are there different versions to install or something like that?
There’s two versions, the stand-alone, which came from Acorn Arcade and has both music and effects, and the Zodiac - Aries version which doesn’t.

Vanfanel
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by Vanfanel »

JonAbbott wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 7:51 am
Vanfanel wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:40 pm
Are there different versions to install or something like that?
There’s two versions, the stand-alone, which came from Acorn Arcade and has both music and effects, and the Zodiac - Aries version which doesn’t.
I have just re-installed Hamsters from !PackMan, and the installed version doesn't have SFX+Music in-game. Would it be possible to make the "enhanced" version installable via PackMan! instead?

JonAbbott
Posts: 2378
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by JonAbbott »

Vanfanel wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:15 pm
I have just re-installed Hamsters from !PackMan, and the installed version doesn't have SFX+Music in-game. Would it be possible to make the "enhanced" version installable via PackMan! instead?
It's not "enhanced" but bug fixed. It seems I forgot to update the !Run in Hamsters. If you refresh the package now, it should have SFX+Music.

Vanfanel
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS 2.73

Post by Vanfanel »

JonAbbott wrote:
Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:41 pm
Vanfanel wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:15 pm
I have just re-installed Hamsters from !PackMan, and the installed version doesn't have SFX+Music in-game. Would it be possible to make the "enhanced" version installable via PackMan! instead?
It's not "enhanced" but bug fixed. It seems I forgot to update the !Run in Hamsters. If you refresh the package now, it should have SFX+Music.
Yay! I updated and indeed we are back in 60FPS-land with SFX + MUSIC! :mrgreen:

Thanks a lot for the work you put into this wonder called ADFFS!!!!

Post Reply