Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Download games the project has approval to release
JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by JonAbbott » Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:51 pm

Image Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

ID: 10232
Version: Unknown
Developer: Magnetic Fields; Nigel Little (conversion)
Genre: Driving; Arcade
RAM: 1024

CPU compatibility: ARM2 ARM250 ARM3 ARM610 ARM700 ARM710 ARM7500 StrongARM ARMv5+
OS compatibility: 3.11 3.5x 3.6x 3.7x 4.x 5.x

Legal info: Distribution rights held by JASPP


Download: Full archive (6.5mb)

ImageImage


Game info
To run the game use "Boot floppy" from the ADFFS Filer.


Synopsis
Lotus Esprit Turbo Challenge was widely acclaimed as the best driving game of 1990.
The best just got better with the release of Lotus Turbo Challenge 2.
  • Synchronised play for up to four drivers with computer link
  • One player full screen imagery
  • Hair raising new hazards - rain, lightning, fog, snow, commuter traffic, tunnels, bridges and level crossings
  • A chance to race across the USA
  • A choice of the sleek new Turbo Esprit or the new stylish Elan softop
  • 8 death defying stages with over 60 Check Points
Screenshots
Image Image Image
Gameplay

jamesfmackenzie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by jamesfmackenzie » Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:12 pm

I tried this on my 2048K A4000 and I get "Application needs at least 540K to start up"

When I try holding Ctrl to quit the desktop prior to booting, I arrive at a command prompt (the game does not load).

Any suggestions? I'm using ADFFS 2.20

Thanks!
Last edited by jamesfmackenzie on Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jamesfmackenzie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by jamesfmackenzie » Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:57 pm

I also tried with ADFFS 2.50 beta - same issue.

The game won't run directly from HDD due to copy protection.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by JonAbbott » Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:39 pm

jamesfmackenzie wrote:I tried this on my 2048K A4000 and I get "Application needs at least 540K to start up"
ADFFS requires 4mb of RAM, otherwise there simply isn't enough memory to hold the floppy image in memory. You'll have to kill as many Modules as you can that are using RAM, before loading ADFFS and reduce all the memory slots, such as Fonts, System, Sprites etc.

Quit the ADFFS Filer for a bit more RAM back, then reduce the Modules slider as low as it will go, mount the floppy image, quit out of the desktop and type "ADFBootFloppy" to boot it.

If you're lucky, you might just get it running.

KarateEd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by KarateEd » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:30 pm

Hi Jon,

When I try to run Lotus, after it goes through the splash screen, the screen goes black and nothing else happens. I have an A3010 with 4M or RAM so that shouldn't be a problem. I also have a laptop disk drive in the beast.

Thanks,

Ed...... :-)

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by JonAbbott » Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:59 pm

KarateEd wrote:after it goes through the splash screen, the screen goes black and nothing else happens
Has it worked previously? From memory it counts VSyncs and tries to figure out how many T1 ticks to wait for the palette swap raster. I believe it's bugged though as it locks the machine if it receives an unexpected amount of VSync. What refresh rate is your monitor running at?

KarateEd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by KarateEd » Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:07 pm

Hi Jon,

No, I've not had this working yet, first time I've tried to get it running.

I have to configure:
monitortype 4
sync 0
mode 28
wimpmode 28

in order to get my screen working correctly.

I'm really not sure how to tell what my VSync is though. I don't see a setting for that in *configure or *status

Ed...... :-)

KarateEd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by KarateEd » Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:09 pm

ah, in the monitor settings I see 31.5KHz/60Hz for the refresh rate.

Ed...... :-)

KarateEd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by KarateEd » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:15 pm

Hi Jon,

I think this one is solved. Downloaded the most recent ADFFS (2.61) and it seemed to solve the issue.

Thanks for the heads up. Now all I need to do is figure out how the game runs.....

Ed....... :-)

KarateEd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:05 am

Re: Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (1992) (Krisalis Software)

Post by KarateEd » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:45 pm

Hi Jon,

One more thing that's happening..... Everything is normal until the game starts. The keyboard controls don't appear to work. I tried defining them for a configuration I like and they work in the config menu but once in the game they don't work at all. There is no response. I reloaded and tried the default key configuration just in case that was the issue but it's exactly the same.

The keys work in the configuration menu, not in game.

Any ideas why this might be?

Thanks,

Ed...... :-)

Post Reply