kryo2apd

Discuss using Kryoflux to image floppies
danielj
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 9:08 pm

kryo2apd

Post by danielj » Tue May 14, 2013 9:47 pm

Hi all,
kryo2apd.jar uploaded to the dev site. Usage currently is:

java -jar kryo2apd.jar <kryoflux dump dir>

It requires the Java 7 RT.

I haven't implemented any command line options yet - I'm open to suggestions. As the kryoflux generally produces 5 samples per track I suggest one should probably be to choose which sample to use?

All feedback welcome and I'll implement what I can!

Cheers,
d.

danielj
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: kryo2apd

Post by danielj » Sun May 26, 2013 10:08 pm

New version uploaded, can specify -f to omit the FM stream (which always has false hits) if you know it's not required. Reduces the size of the apd massively.

d.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: kryo2apd

Post by JonAbbott » Mon May 27, 2013 7:16 am

Thanks, do you want to announce this on the various forums? The ABIME thread did have a few Kryoflux owners on it, its been a bit quiet lately but people do contact me through it about ways to image Arc floppies.

Mention the project, so people are aware we are moving things forward :D

danielj
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: kryo2apd

Post by danielj » Mon May 27, 2013 9:24 am

Sure. Is there a website yet for hosting this? I'll attach it to the post otherwise.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: kryo2apd

Post by JonAbbott » Tue May 28, 2013 6:55 am

danielj wrote:Sure. Is there a website yet for hosting this? I'll attach it to the post otherwise.
Not yet, Paul has kindly created a stub for us, but I've not had any time to do anything with it.

Once I finish the current contract I'm on (end of July), I intend on devoting the rest of the year to getting things moving again. I suspect I won't get a lot done in the summer holiday though, as my children do deserve some attention.

I really need to get a new release of ADFFS out, it's been over 5 months - I used to put them out pretty much weekly!

PaulV
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:33 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: kryo2apd

Post by PaulV » Tue May 28, 2013 3:12 pm

JonAbbott wrote:Not yet, Paul has kindly created a stub for us, but I've not had any time to do anything with it.
If you've got any content at all in Word (or any other format), I can at least pre-populate some of the pages for you to speed things up a bit.

Paul

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: kryo2apd

Post by JonAbbott » Thu May 30, 2013 7:29 am

I have nothing I'm afraid, I'd left the web development to the two web devs.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: kryo2apd

Post by JonAbbott » Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:04 pm

I'm getting an error trying to convert Boogie Buggy disc 1. All three APD's have corruption, so something odd is going on. This is using the version on the dev site.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 2000
at net.umbriel.kryolib.APDWriter.updateHeader(APDWriter.java:201)
at net.umbriel.kryolib.APDWriter.createAPD(APDWriter.java:132)
at net.umbriel.kryo2apd.Kryo2Apd.main(Kryo2Apd.java:45)
... 5 more
If I use "-f" disc 1 saves without error. I've put the files on the dev site.

The errors on the image are regular, at a guess, I'd say sector 0 on every other track is corrupt:
BoogieErrors.png
Boogie Buggy disc 1 errors
BoogieErrors.png (4.23 KiB) Viewed 636 times

danielj
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: kryo2apd

Post by danielj » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:26 pm

Hi Jon, I'll try and have a look tonight. Looks like I did something lazy with an array as it puts the APD file together. I'm guessing we're not expecting any FM tracks here so the -f option should be fine. I'll have a look at the original files and see if I can work out what's going on and where.

d.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1736
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: kryo2apd

Post by JonAbbott » Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:25 pm

Did you figure out what the issue was in the end?

Post Reply