ADFFS future feature testing

Discuss development specific to the Pi version of ADFFS
JonAbbott
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by JonAbbott » Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:26 pm

JonAbbott wrote:RC3 has broken Small. The only change made is not loading CLib when the JIT starts up; Small isn't C based, so some investigation required to figure out how its been affected.
Turns out it was nothing to do with RC3. One of the game's Modules was claiming the EventV vector before it had initialised its workspace. I've updated obey.zip to fix the issue.

Vanfanel
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by Vanfanel » Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:53 pm

@Jon: Regarding Small, I have updated obey, and it fails half of the times I try to launch it. So I think there's still something going on with Small.

JonAbbott
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by JonAbbott » Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:28 am

Vanfanel wrote:@Jon: Regarding Small, I have updated obey, and it fails half of the times I try to launch it. So I think there's still something going on with Small.
Could you see if adding ADFEmulateRISCOS 3.11 to the top of its boot script resolves the issue.

Vanfanel
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by Vanfanel » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:30 pm

@Jon: I have tried adding that line, but it's still hanging with undefined instruction error 1/2 of the times.

Also, I have tried copying !IronLord to HDD but it says there's a disk error when copying. Is there anything wrong with the disk image or does it use some special format or similar?

JonAbbott
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by JonAbbott » Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:13 pm

Vanfanel wrote:@Jon: I have tried adding that line, but it's still hanging with undefined instruction error 1/2 of the times.
With the floppy mounted, type the following to pin down what's failing:

Code: Select all

Set Small$dir ADFS::Small.$.!Small
WimpSlot -min 560K -max 560K
GOARM3JIT 0
ECHO <22><13>
RMLoad <Small$Dir>.V
RMLoad <Small$Dir>.X
RMLoad <Small$Dir>.S
<Small$Dir>.!Image
Vanfanel wrote:Also, I have tried copying !IronLord to HDD but it says there's a disk error when copying. Is there anything wrong with the disk image or does it use some special format or similar?
The floppy is down to be re-imaged when another source becomes available, I had to reconstruct the floppy image as the original was damaged.

Vanfanel
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by Vanfanel » Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:23 pm

@Jon: The undefined instruction error appears when I write:
RMLoad <Small$Dir>.X

JonAbbott
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by JonAbbott » Sun Dec 11, 2016 5:39 pm

Vanfanel wrote:@Jon: The undefined instruction error appears when I write:
RMLoad <Small$Dir>.X
In that case, try the following to see if any voices are being installed. Use GOARM3JIT after each to shutdown the JIT.

Code: Select all

GOARM3JIT 0
RMLoad ADFS::0.$.!Small.X
VOICES
The Module should install three sounds:
FX-voice
FX-noise
FX-sample
If none of these voices appear, try the following which I'm expecting to work, as it won't try to install any sounds.

Code: Select all

GOARM3JIT 0
JITMEMORYA 388 E92D4000 E1A0F00E Sound-FX
RMLoad ADFS::0.$.!Small.X
Then try getting it to install one voice:

Code: Select all

GOARM3JIT 0
JITMEMORYA 3A4 EF040183 E8BD8000 Sound-FX
RMLoad ADFS::0.$.!Small.X
If that works, try two voices:

Code: Select all

GOARM3JIT 0
JITMEMORYA 3B4 EF040183 E8BD8000 Sound-FX
RMLoad ADFS::0.$.!Small.X

Vanfanel
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by Vanfanel » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:28 pm

@Jon:

Doing

GOARM3JIT 0
RMLoad ADFS::0.$.!Small.X
VOICES

resuts in a list of voices, where 10, 11 and 12 are
10 FX-voice
11 FX-noise
12 FX-sample

And I get no errors doing that...

JonAbbott
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Essex

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by JonAbbott » Sat Dec 17, 2016 6:18 pm

Well, that makes no sense as it reported the error when you tried that earlier :?

I assume it's still not working under RC4?

Vanfanel
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 am

Re: ADFFS future feature testing

Post by Vanfanel » Sat Dec 17, 2016 6:32 pm

@Jon: It makes sense somehow: the error is intermitent. Sometimes the game hangs on the error, sometimes it runs fine. Once it has booted, it runs fine, but it boots like 1/2 of the times.. However I can't replicate it now with the commands...

Will try RC4 as soon as I get back home.

Post Reply